Table of contents

1.2.2. Geographical scope

The geographical scope of this report spans over the 33 member countries of the European Environment Agency (EEA) (as of early 2019), namely the 28 Member States of the European Union (EU) as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. In some cases, quantitative data in Chapter 2 is not available for all non-EU member countries of the EEA. The Western Balkan cooperating countries of the EEA are not explicitly addressed in this report. However, they are strongly interconnected with EU power and gas networks, and many of the findings in this report also apply to them.

comments (2)

There are considerable differences in the energy system and its climate sensitivity across Europe. Some climate change impact assessments, including EEA reports, have used climatic or biogeographic zones to present results for different European regions (e.g. EEA, 2017b). Other studies, in particular those with a strong economic focus, have based their regionalisation on country groupings (e.g. Bonjean Stanton et al., 2016; Ciscar et al., 2018).

comments (0)

Considering the particular focus of this report on electricity supply and demand, the regional country groupings used in this report (mostly in Chapter 3) are based on the seven regional wholesale electricity markets of the EU (including Switzerland) (EC, 2018t). The non-EU member countries of the EEA were added to those regions that to which they are most closely connected. The island countries Cyprus and Iceland are not connected to the European electricity grid. They were added to the regions with the most similar climatic conditions.

comments (0)

The resulting regionalisation is listed below and shown in Figure 1‑2:

  1. Northern Europe (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden)
  2. British Isles (United Kingdom, Ireland)
  3. Central Western Europe (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Switzerland)
  4. Central Eastern Europe (Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia)
  5. Iberian Peninsula (Spain, Portugal)
  6. Apennine Peninsula (Italy, Malta)
  7. South Eastern Europe (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Turkey)

comments (0)

Figure 1‑2 Country groupings based on regional wholesale electricity markets in Europe

Source: Adapted from (EC, 2018t).

comments (1)