EEA

Navigation

Helpdesk

For accounts and assistance email the helpdesk at helpdesk@eionet.europa.eu

Account services

Places

User management

IG visitors can authenticate on each IG using locally defined or their Eionet credentials. Once authenticated, the visitor will have specific access on each part of the IG, depending on what roles were assigned to his user.

An overview of all users will be found in the main user administration page, linked from the administrative side-menu.

User overview

Local users

Administrators can create local users in order to give certain access and roles to viewers. The Local users administration tab offers a local user searchable overview from where existing local users can be deleted and roles can be revoked.

Local users

The Assign roles to users submenu offers in-IG browsing so users can be assigned roles only on a specific part (folder).

New users can be added one by one, or can be bulk-imported from an Excel file in the dedicated submenus.

Eionet users

Similarly to local users, roles can be assigned to Eionet users, too. Additionally, roles can be assigned to Eionet groups, which eliminates the need to add roles to potentially hundreds of users. This works of course only if a suitable Eionet group can be identified.

Eionet users

Note. Eionet users cannot be created from within the Eionet Forum or Projects platforms.

Roles

Roles can be viewed as groups withing the IG. Users having a certain role will be allowed to make certain actions (associated with that role) in the site. Administrators can modify the default setting for each role (Edit), and add new roles to the IG, if there is a special need.

Roles

Usually the default permission of each default role can be semantically derived from its name:

Anonymous (special role for unauthenticated visitors)
Doesn't usually have any special permission
Authenticated (each logged on user has at least this role)
Is usually not required to enter Captcha words for submitting data or comments
In some Interest Groups is also allowed to comment and even add content
Viewer
Has the view permission in otherwise restricted folders
Can add comments
Contributor
Can add content
Can delete own content
Meeting Observer
Has access to Meeting objects, even if it is not a participant
Reviewer
Can submit comments to Talkback consultations
Administrator
Can administer the Interest Group
Manager